Search Unity

[WIP] The Long Way Home - Story-Driven Action/Adventure

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by jdraper3, May 18, 2016.

1. jdraper3

jdraper3

Hey everyone!

So, I've been a software engineer for over 15 years now, and decided about a year ago to get into game development, which has always been my dream. I have been working with a friend ever since then on our first game - a story-driven action/adventure game called "The Long Way Home".

cabin-interior-wip.jpg

The game revolves around a woman named Claire, who has returned to a family cabin at a lake - 8 years after her little brother vanished there under mysterious circumstances - to attempt to piece together the events surrounding his disappearance.

fields.jpg

The game is part investigative mystery, part cinematic drama, part survival horror, and part action/adventure. The theme of the game is "Your greatest power comes from your fondest memories", and through means that I will attempt to explain more over time, Claire is able to manifest her thoughts into reality which grants her abilities to fight off "the darkness" - nightmarish entities that pursue her.

entity shot 1.jpg

We have worked very hard on creating an intricate story that we think will have some emotional heft as well as an interesting message to share. We are creating a cinematic trailer that will be a polished "vertical slice" of the game, and are in the final stages of motion capture. We hope to be starting a Kickstarter soon, which we will use to unveil the trailer and hopefully get some funding to create this experience.

lakeside.jpg

Here is a teaser of the opening shot of the trailer (with no actors, since motion capture is still in progress). We are using Morph3d for our characters - at least for now - as this has helped us to rapidly prototype. Depending on the tools released and our budget, we may actually stick with M3D long term, or we may invest in custom character models.