Search Unity

WIP: Rig and skin in C4D 10 for Unity

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by bigkahuna, Dec 11, 2006.

1. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

I'm brand new to Cinema 4D, so I'm trying to figure out the easiest and best way of rigging/skinning a model in C4D 10 for use in Unity. Here's a workflow that seems to work. Please add or change, I'm sure there are many better ways than this!

Step 1: Create a cylinder with default values. Change "height segments" to 12 and "rot segments" to 8.

Step 2: Functions => Make Editable.

Attached Files:

2. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Step 3: Character => Joint Tool
    Then "CTRL" - left click with your mouse to create 4 joints.

Step 4: "CTRL" - left click on Cylinder and 4 joints.
    Then Character => Bind
    Select "Auto Weight" in the attributes window
    This screen shot shows me testing the rig by rotating joint number 3.

Attached Files:

3. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Step 5: "CTRL" - click on Joints
    Character => Conversion => Convert to Bones

Step 6: Rename new bones to "Bone.x".

Attached Files:

4. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Step 7: Delete all joints.

Step 8: "CTRL" - left click on Cylinder and all Bones.
    Character => Bind
    Select "Auto Weight"
    This screen shot shows me testing the converted rig by rotating bone number 3.

Attached Files:

5. bigkahuna

bigkahuna

Step 9: Export the file as an .FBX

Step 10: Import the .FBX into Unity and you're done. The Cinema 4D version 10 file is attached.
    This screenshot shows me testing the rig in Unity, again I'm rotating good, ol' bone number 3!

Attached Files:

6. Marble

Marble

Thanks bigK.

This is must-know for all you out there with R10. The new joints and skin do not work with other 3D packages, including Unity.

7. bigkahuna

bigkahuna