Search Unity

Games [WIP] Left Turn Legend - Oval Circuit Racing, with a Twist!

Discussion in 'Projects In Progress' started by RLin, Feb 10, 2021.

1. RLin

RLin

Hello everyone!

My name is Raymond, and I've been developing Android games with Unity for over 6 years now. My latest work in progress is a wacky, over-the-top endless racer that parodies oval circuit racing leagues like NASCAR. Players drive endlessly in an oval circuit, trying to survive for as long as possible while crazy crashes go on. Powerups to repair or enhance the player's car spawn from time to time to add to the fun.

All of the in-game art, including 2D textures and 3D models, as well as the programming is done by me. The game uses custom shaders in order to achieve the flat shading on the models without having to duplicate vertices in the source meshes. It also features custom image effect shaders for the full-screen bloom effects.

I've already published two devlog videos for the game: one on New Years Day, and the second update just now! Take a look if you want:

2. RLin

RLin

My third devlog/progress update is up on YouTube! This time, I focused on creating pixel-perfect decals for oil spills and other obstacles and working on a system to render a large crowd without being too performance-intensive for mobile devices.

3. RLin

RLin

After working some more on the game, devlog #4 is here!

Devlog #4 focuses mostly on the bespoke font and logo which were created for the game, and also goes over some gameplay changes and additions I've made with pit road and a complete overhaul of the points system.

4. RLin

RLin

Devlog #5 is here with some huge features! I've created a decal system for the game from scratch, complete with tons of fake brands that parody American corporate culture.

Jmonroe likes this.
  5. RLin

RLin

With Devlog #6, I've bumped the number of game modes all the way up to three while also adding lots of new cars and powerups.

kittik likes this.
  6. kittik

kittik