Search Unity

Games [WIP] GearBlocks - Build working physics based machines and mechanisms [DEMO]

Discussion in 'Projects In Progress' started by danger726, Mar 24, 2015.

1. danger726

danger726

Hey everyone, here's a game I've been developing for many years. I've been posting to my own dev blog for a while, but I thought I'd start a thread here. Hopefully some of you will find it interesting, especially what I've been doing with physics in Unity. Thanks for reading, and if you get a chance to try the game I'd welcome any feedback!

GearBlocks is an open ended sandbox game for mechanically minded builders.

You can build a car with rack and pinion steering and a working drive-train with a differential gear. Or you could make a run-and-jump parkour course with motorised bouncy platforms, or an unstoppable walking mechanical elephant. The only limit is your imagination…and physics.

Create
    Build or repair your creations anywhere on the map. Snap parts together, resize them, change their materials, paint them, and link their behaviours together. Choose from over 200 parts, including functional mechanical elements such as motors, gears, pulleys, joints, springs, actuators, and much more.

Interact
    Turn, grab and shove your machines and watch the parts physically interact. Jump into the driver’s seat and put your vehicles through their paces. Crash and smash your constructions to smithereens.

Improve
    Learn how to build with the in-game tutorial scenario. Explore the example constructions to see how they’re put together. Test your builds in the included challenge scenarios.

Customise
    Make rag-dolls from body parts and use them as your custom player character. Mod the game with Lua scripting to create your own custom tools, scenarios, challenges and mini-games.

Share your creations with the community, try out what others have made, and maybe learn a new building trick or two along the way!

Out now in Early Access