Search Unity

Windows server in indie?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by DukeOfDesmo, Oct 29, 2008.

1. DukeOfDesmo

DukeOfDesmo

Hi all,

Like a lot of people in here (it seems) i'm a professional shockwave Director developer (yes, a few of us are still paid to do it!) trying to make the move to unity.
    My problem is that everything I try is stopped dead in it's tracks by the limitations of the 'indie' license. The latest stumbling block is that I can't seem to do any networking, as I can't publish a server app to windows standalone and I can't connect to a local server instance.
    I'm trying to get the castle server-client tutorial demo going, I've tried running it in a browser on my windows box but I can't seem to connect, should it work? Is there any way around this? (other than buying a pro license for a product I can't get anything out of yet)

please help!

2. Dreamora

Dreamora

with Indie you can not publish Windows Standalone at all.
    Thats a Unity Pro feature only.

You can only deploy to windows through webplayer with a watermark

3. DukeOfDesmo

DukeOfDesmo

Wow, thanks for the quick response!

It's a bit of an odd limitation, if i were to run a web-player instance as a server in a pc should i be able to connect to it or are there some security restrictions in place?

4. HiggyB

HiggyB

Unity Product Evangelist

You could do that. There are in-browser security limitations compared to a stand-alone executable but not that affect this situation.

5. Dreamora

Dreamora

Why an odd limitation?
    Would perhaps be odd if there were a windows version where this was the case but actually the editor is OSX only at the moment, so Windows "is the other platform"

6. ProtonOne

ProtonOne

One difference with the web player is that your framerate will be capped at 50fps. This isn't a bad thing though, in fact I manually lower it to 30 anyway.

7. DukeOfDesmo

DukeOfDesmo