Search Unity

Windows Phone - long loading time ?!

Discussion in 'Windows' started by Pav3l_, Jan 14, 2016.

1. Pav3l_

Pav3l_

Hi guys,

I'm new to Unity and currently developing simple arcade game intended for mobile. I have Lumia 920 with Windows 10 (build 10.0.10586.29) and last few days was testing with Unity 5.2.4 Personal with debug on using VS 2013, so loading time of about 15 seconds wasn't really a surprise as it loads a lot o debugging stuff. I was really surprised when I have switched to Master and loading time was about 12 seconds (as loading time I mean from clicking on app to showing first screen). I know Lumia 920 isn't new and speed daemon, but come on, 12 seconds ?!

To be sure I have made some testing, with scene with one square, one light, export : Phone 8.1.

Unity 4.7.0 : 7 s (logo on 2s mark)
    Unity 5.2.1 : 10s (logo on 5s mark)
    Unity 5.3.1 : 10s (logo on 5s mark, which mean my simple scene loads in approx. 2 seconds, which is way to long for such not complicated scene)

Does this seem right ? Could someone more experienced in this matter give an opinion? How is this supposed to pass certification ?! Does Unity 5.1.x is faster on WP?

I read here that Unity 5.x branch is kinda broken on mobile and have huge performance hit compared to 4.6.x, but unfortunately I have learned this after I have started developing and I'm nearly finished with my product with Unity 5.x.
    Can someone advice me on that matter?

Thanks in advance

Last edited: Jan 14, 2016
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

Tautvydas-Zilys

Unity Technologies

It really depends on your game and what you're loading.

Are you testing the loading time when launching from the phone, or via Visual Studio? Visual Studio adds a huge amount of time to startup.

3. Pav3l_

Pav3l_