Search Unity

Windows developer curious about Unity

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ojuzu, Jun 30, 2006.

1. ojuzu

ojuzu

Hello all!

I've looked through this forum and it seems there have been quite few developers in my situation: I'm extremely interested and intrigued by Unity but I'm a Windows developer through and through. I do use a Mac at work but mostly for exporting Flash games that I've already built on the PC.

For my personal game development I'm currently using Torque and while it does the job, it's far from ideal in many ways. So, my question is regarding using Unity on a lower-end Mac. I'm thinking something like the new Macbook or the new Core Duo Mini. I've read a few threads that have said that the GPUs on these machines are pretty bad so I'm reticent to buy one. However, I really don't want to spend $2000+ on a higher end Mac and still have to shell out another $1500 for Unity Pro. (I would need Pro since exporting to Windows standalone is a requirement for me.) Can anyone tell me what the lowest spec Mac is that I could comfortably develop on using Unity? Might it be in my best interest to find a used G5?

I'm sure it's been mentioned many times before but if Unity was ever brought over to Windows, I suspect that you would sell a substantial number of copies to all of the Windows developers that are frustrated and unhappy with their current engines. Just throwing another "bring Unity to Windows" request out there since I don't think I'll want to splash out nearly $4000 to "switch". ;)

Thanks for listening and I look forward to any feedback or suggestions.

2. Randy-Edmonds

Randy-Edmonds

I am developing on a 17" iMac G5 (1.8Ghz), works great. I bought it off ebay about a year ago for $850.

3. drJones

drJones