Search Unity

Windows Build - missing environment

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Solara1509, Jun 8, 2022.

1. Solara1509

Solara1509

Hello everybody,

I'm quite new to Unity, working on a project for work. The project itself is ready and running completely fine in unity editor but when I build an .exe and start the game the whole environment is missing. The dialogue system is working well, the Canvas and UI is working well but the office building I made up, the NPCs and simply everything is gone. I am completely lost on why that is. I have watched dozens of tutorials how to build the game and read so many threads but I cannot seem to figure out where I did go wrong. Y'all have an idea what the issue may be? I also don't have a .txt file where possible failures are shown.

I would really appreciate any kind of hints and ideas.

Thank you
    Solara

2. MadeFromPolygons

MadeFromPolygons

There is not a great deal to go with here, we will probably need to see some screenshots of what is happening and how you have set things up to troubleshoot this.

Did you definitely include the scene in the build? (As in the scene with the environment is ticked in the build settings window)

Also this forum is for general discussion, in future post support threads in a relevant forum section otherwise you are unlikely to get many helpful replies (if at all)

3. Solara1509

Solara1509

Hey,

thanks for getting back to me. My apologies, I honestly thought that was kind of a general subject since I cannot really name a specific issue and wouldn't know where to address this. I would not even know what to screenshot since the settings in the build itself are correct, it must be something in the game. I just added a Start Scene to the game with some kind of user interface. When I now start it on Unity editor and it switches the scene it becomes kinda darkish. So there must be something in the game that I cannot seem to figure out.

upload_2022-6-8_13-15-17.png