Search Unity

Windows 8.1 Update Ruins Unity

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by MrProfessorTroll, Oct 18, 2013.

  1. MrProfessorTroll

    MrProfessorTroll

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    383
    I have just upgraded from Windows 8 to Windows 8.1 and now Unity is not working anymore. I need to work on my project because I am on a deadline. Is this happening to anyone else? Any suggestions?
     
  2. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,562
    The editor doesn't work or games that target Windows 8 don't work? I'm on Windows 8.1 (64-bit / from my MSDN Subscription) and I haven't had any issues. I also went from Windows 8 to 8.1, however I installed over the top and let it migrate my files, I didn't use the upgrade option.
     
  3. MrProfessorTroll

    MrProfessorTroll

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    383
    The editor doesnt work. It says "Unity has stopped working" and then it gives me the Debug option and the Close Program option. Also, what do you mean by installing over the top and not upgrading?
     
  4. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,562
    Uninstall and reinstall Unity... that's about the only advice I could give you.

    What I mean is I used the ISO, booted to DVD and did an Install. It's essentially an upgrade, not a complete clean install, but I used the install media rather than waiting for the update to become available.
     
  5. Pix10

    Pix10

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2012
    Posts:
    842
  6. seitor

    seitor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Posts:
    36
    I can still open unity however window 8.1 invalidated my pro license :( .

    This is Unity error output
    "Machine identification is invalid for current license"
     
    Last edited: Oct 18, 2013
  7. Meltdown

    Meltdown

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Posts:
    5,419
    I would only upgrade to 8.1 when Unity 4.3 is released.
     
  8. nessim

    nessim

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Solution to crashing editor in Windows 8.1

    I was having the same problem. After upgrading to Windows 8.1 the Unity Editor stopped working. Inspector, Project, and Hierarchy tabs still showed, but the 3D viewport did not load and the editor crashed entirely. So I looked around and found a solution that forces using Direct3D 11. Adding the " -force-d3d11" parameter to Unity.exe did the trick.


    This is what worked for me:

    1. Make a shortcut to the Unity.exe, open its properties

    2. Change the target so Unity.exe gets opened in d3d11 mode:
    YOUR_PATH\Unity.exe -force-d3d11

    3. OPTIONAL: IF you suffer from BLURRY TEXTS/FONTS in the editor: In the 'Compatibility' tab check the "Disable display scaling...". Apply your changes and you are good to go


    Hope this helps until an update fixes this issue.
     
  9. kexar66

    kexar66

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    The same here! I wrote to support to fix it, still no answer.
     
  10. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
    What is your ticket number? Please note it can take up to 5 business days for a response.
     
  11. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,562
    Not surprising. The ISO for Build 9600 (RTM) has been available in our MSDN subscriptions for a couple of weeks but it looks like Microsoft has made a push to roll this out as an update first which makes sense but 3.5 GB is a pretty healthy download for some folks.
     
  12. MrProfessorTroll

    MrProfessorTroll

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    383
    Yes, I had the machine identification error as well but I just registered it again by signing into my account. After that, I got the blank view port as mentioned above which later causes the crash. I have yet to try that solution but when I do I will give an update
     
  13. MrProfessorTroll

    MrProfessorTroll

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    383
    Yes guys, the solution as mentioned by nessim works!
     
  14. ForceX

    ForceX

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    1,100
    I can say that it did kill my license activation, now need to have support reset my Unity activation. If you are going to install the Windows 8.1 update then be sure to deactivate your current license activation.

    We could really use a web method for deactivation's in the event that we are Unable to access the deactivation process from unity it self.
     
  15. Tyler-Egeto

    Tyler-Egeto

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Same issue here, Windows 8.1 killed my license. I contacted support and the automated response said it could take up to 5 working days for a response! There must be a better solution here, its very frustrating when you are relying on the product to get work done.

    As ForceX said, some web based deactivate form would be nice. For example a button that says "Deactivate my Unity licenses."
     
  16. appels

    appels

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Posts:
    2,685
    Installed 8.1 update, re-registered licenses, works like a charm here. No problems at all.
    Also from experience I know that support prioritises license tickets.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2013
  17. SiegfriedCroes

    SiegfriedCroes

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Posts:
    565
    Having the same problem here... I can still open my project but as soon as I import an asset it crashes (stopped working)... Luckily nessim trick works :D So I'll use that for now :)

    Btw, This is my first post here! Hello everyone ;)
     
  18. MrProfessorTroll

    MrProfessorTroll

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    383
    HI!!
     
  19. gv

    gv

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Posts:
    89
    thanks Nessim... your command line fix has worked! :)
     
  20. Nigthwatch

    Nigthwatch

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    Nessim thank you so much!

    Your fix did the trick for me also, keep up the good work!
     
  21. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,562
    There's still something that's bugging me about this. After I upgraded to 8.1, Unity would crash (stop working) as above... but with an existing project. When I opened it clean and created a new project it works fine. I copied my scripts and assets / scenes from my non-working project to the new project and it still works fine, no crashes. But I can't open my original project. This is all without using the commandline switch. So what is it about an existing project that would make it crash but work fine with a new project? Tried it with 4.2.2.
     
  22. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,562
    Here's the error that's thrown (from Debugger)

    Unhandled exception at 0x7705EA02 (ntdll.dll) in Unity.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation writing location 0x00000004.
     
  23. im

    im

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Posts:
    1,393
  24. WolfSheep

    WolfSheep

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    9
    I was having this problem too, nessim your solution fixed it straight away, thank you.
     
  25. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,288
  26. Fubeca

    Fubeca

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    41
    Something like that, except that it should offer a WORKING solution when Unity says "This license is for another machine" after an update to Windows 8.1. If that option is available after logging in, then that should be made apparent. It wasn't apparent to me at this menu, and I ended up having to deactivate my macbook so I could work on my PC.

    The whole point was that Unity doesn't recognize the license any more after installing the Windows 8.1 update normally via the Windows Store. No hardware changes. Other systems with limited activations (such as iTunes) allow you to reset all your activations and start over. I know it's not ideal (for Unity), but the only software packages I had activation troubles with after the update were Unity and Hero Lab, which both use activation systems that don't tie into the Windows API to do it the "standard" way.

    A good activation system is one that enables you to protect your product while not inconveniencing your paying customers. Once you've inconvenienced your customers when it isn't apparent that it would obviously need to reactivate (such as replacing hardware or repaving a machine), then your activation system isn't a good one.
     
  27. amiaram

    amiaram

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    $erro2.png here does not work! :( Can anyone help me?
     
  28. amiaram

    amiaram

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Solution for my problem: "C:program Files (x86)\Unity\Editor\Unity.exe" -force-d3d11
     
  29. drew_massey

    drew_massey

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Posts:
    93
    I also had this problem, and Nessim's solution seems to be a working temporary fix for existing projects. However, I can't use my toolbar to open Unity, and if I create a new project it will crash the first time I create it and then when I re-open Unity it will automatically finish the project without loading the default assets such as the terrain editor data.
     
  30. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    in target when I past YOUR_PATH\Unity.exe -force-d3d11 it dosnt work it says "problem with shortcut " so what do I enter in stead or what could be the problem?
    :eek:
     
  31. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    I tried what nessim said but do I need to past YOUR_PATH\Unity.exe -force-d3d11 in the target directly ?
     
  32. nessim

    nessim

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Obviously, you have to replace YOUR_PATH with the path where you installed Unity to. So, if you installed Unity to e.g. C:\Unity3D, then the "target" of your shortcut would be: C:\Unity3D\Unity.exe -force-d3d11
     
  33. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    thx so much ill check if it works
     
  34. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Unity\Editor\Unity.exe" that's my target right now so how do I edit it sorry im a beginner
     
  35. Dangeresque

    Dangeresque

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Unity\Editor\Unity.exe -force-d3d11
     
  36. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    $2013-11-07_173040.png $2013-11-07_173040.png
    this what it does when I enter C:\Program Files (x86)\Unity\Editor\Unity.exe -force-d3d11
     
  37. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    4,588
    It has a space in it, so you have to enclose it in quotes.

    "C:\Program Files (x86)\Unity\Editor\Unity.exe" -force-d3d11
     
  38. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
  39. windows8.1

    windows8.1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    thank u so much it worked
     
  40. OmniSliver

    OmniSliver

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks a lot, that fixed it for me. (Unity Editor 4.2.2f1)
     
  41. pachoquiroz

    pachoquiroz

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2013
    Posts:
    1
    The same happened to me
     
  42. Amon

    Amon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Posts:
    1,027
    The fix posted by nessim does not work for me. Unity 4.3 windows 8.1 64bit
     
  43. RvBGames

    RvBGames

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Posts:
    141
    We are using 8.1, and had upgraded before we installed 4.3.

    Are people really using 4.3 successfully? Unity 4.3 was frequently locking up and/or exiting to the point it was unusable. Are you able to use it without incident?
     
  44. greggtwep16

    greggtwep16

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Posts:
    1,503
    Unfortunately My gpu does not support d3d11 only d3d9. Any other workarounds anyone found? Hence it crashes at startup.

    What was the original bug report # so I can upvote?
     
  45. Graham-Dunnett

    Graham-Dunnett

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2009
    Posts:
    4,288
    The idea is that *before* you start changing your OS, you return the license.
     
  46. mowaiskhan

    mowaiskhan

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Thanks Nessim, your trick solved the problem :)

     
  47. chandu125

    chandu125

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    Hi,
    I am getting an app certification error in windows store 8.1.i am using unity 4.3.1 and vs-2013
    Windows security features test
    ◦File C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RealHighwayCarRacing_1.0.0.0_x86 __bembtt49d8s6p\Assembly-CSharp-firstpass.dll has failed the NXCheck check.
    ◦File C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RealHighwayCarRacing_1.0.0.0_x86 __bembtt49d8s6p\Assembly-CSharp-firstpass.dll has failed the SafeSEHCheck check.
    ◦File C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RealHighwayCarRacing_1.0.0.0_x86 __bembtt49d8s6p\Assembly-CSharp.dll has failed the NXCheck check.
    ◦File C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RealHighwayCarRacing_1.0.0.0_x86 __bembtt49d8s6p\Assembly-CSharp.dll has failed the SafeSEHCheck check.
    ◦File C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RealHighwayCarRacing_1.0.0.0_x86 __bembtt49d8s6p\UnityEngine.dll has failed the NXCheck check.
    ◦File C:\Program Files\WindowsApps\RealHighwayCarRacing_1.0.0.0_x86 __bembtt49d8s6p\UnityEngine.dll has failed the SafeSEHCheck check.
    please let me know how to solve this problem..........
     
  48. pesseba

    pesseba

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Thank you Nessim... your tip works fine
     
  49. Messatsu

    Messatsu

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Hi!
    Since updated to W8.1, every time I try to open an Unity game a "failed to update Unity Web Player" error appears. I tried to re-install a bunch of times, but nothing happens.
     
  50. Aurore

    Aurore

    Head of Learn Content Production Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Posts:
    3,104
    Try completely uninstalling the Web Player, clear your browser cache and install it again from here