Search Unity

1. Unity Asset Manager is now available in public beta. Try it out now and join the conversation here in the forums.
    Dismiss Notice

Will Unity 2020.1 make ProGrids obsolete?

Discussion in '2020.1 Beta' started by georgeq, Sep 29, 2019.

1. georgeq

georgeq

I have to say I've never used ProBuilder before, but according to some tutorials, in order to be effective in its use, you also need to install ProGrids. One of the first things I noticed after installing 2020.1, are the "toggle grid visibility" and "toggle snap" buttons, on the Scene's tool bar, so I didn't install ProGrids. I've been using ProBuilder for a couple of hours, and it looks to me like the native grid system covers any aspect you may need. So if ProGrids becomes obsolete on 2020.1, then why I steel see if on the Package Manager?... or what's the reason to keep it alive?

2. Grimreaper358

Grimreaper358

The new Snaps and Grid options are a native integration of ProGrids. If you install Progrids you will see they have the exact same options. The only difference is that ProGrids can have colored Grid per axis. Also, this is in 2019.3 as well. It's the first version that it got integrated in. Maybe after 2019.3 is released they will hide ProGrids from that version forward.

3. georgeq

georgeq

I can live without colors. So... basically, I not missing anything important by not installing it. Thank you!

4. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

I much prefer built in Unity grid, I think Unity should just drop progrids. It's a pointless investment.

Alverik likes this.
  5. gabrielw_unity

gabrielw_unity

Unity Technologies

Heya folks! Sorry for the late reply, been on vacation. ProGrids still exists as a package because we care about all the users on pre-19.3! :) They need Grids, too ;) Feel free to ignore it in the Package Manager if you are on 19.3 and above.

6. CRYWOLF86

CRYWOLF86