Search Unity

why use 3ds max/blender/maya

Discussion in 'Asset Importing & Exporting' started by inkdpanda, Apr 18, 2013.

1. inkdpanda

inkdpanda

Hi i'm VERY new to unity and 3D software in general. I have 3ds max(student free version) and I'm wondering why all of it can't be made in Unity itself?

I'm just testing the waters here and got the lynda unity tutorials but is using 3ds max/maya/blender necessary?

2. SteveJ

SteveJ

The short answer is that Unity doesn't have the tools or capability to allow you to create any sort of complex model. If your game consists only of cubes, spheres, etc, then yes - you could do everything in Unity. If you need anything more complex than that, you'll need to work with a dedicated modelling product.

3. inkdpanda

inkdpanda

okay thank you so much!

I tried maya but I hear 3ds max is more suited towards game developement(but no one has given reasons why, they just say it). I like the interface and general overview of 3ds max vs maya. Can you explain what(and yes it is subjective) it is about 3ds max that people say it leans towards gaming?

thank you for all the help!

4. screenname_taken

screenname_taken

I'm a Maya user myself and can't get around to using 3DMax.
    I've been using Maya for so long that i just don't feel like even trying max.

From what i understand its basically that the way polygon modeling works in max, makes it easier and i'm guessing its for also all those export/GLSL/DX integration tools it has.

End of the day though, both have their quirks and it's down to what you feel most comfortable with.
    Both have lots of resources available to them and help online.

5. paracosm

paracosm