Search Unity

Why "timeCreated" in meta file keeps changing?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Zephyr-Zhang, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. Zephyr-Zhang

    Zephyr-Zhang

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Hi,

    My team uses Git for version control. After upgraded Unity to 5.3, we found the “timeCreated” value in meta files always keeps changing, see:

    QQ截图20160223112221.png

    Almost every time when I want to commit my work,there are many meaningless "timeCreated" changes in lots of meta files. It's very annoying. I have to discard them all, or commit them all , neither is good practice. Is there a way to prevent it ?
     
  2. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    292
    So annoying bug!

    Can unity team respond please?
     
  3. Spacew00t

    Spacew00t

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Posts:
    19
    I'm having the same exact problem. It's becoming a a huge pain. I'm on 5.3.3f1, OSX.
     
  4. realworld666

    realworld666

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Posts:
    22
    Same problem here. I thought it was PrefabEvolution causing this. I assume nobody else is using that plugin and that this is a Unity bug?
     
  5. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    292
    We use PE but still I think it's a Unity bug.
     
  6. watsonsong

    watsonsong

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Posts:
    370
    I met the same problem~
     
  7. Xtro

    Xtro

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    292
  8. Pablo-Isidro

    Pablo-Isidro

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2015
    Posts:
    5
    Same problem here, this is really annoying :(
     
  9. Xarbrough

    Xarbrough

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Posts:
    483
    It's not a bug, but a design flaw (in my opinion). To change a texture in your project at edit time, you have to use the TextureImporter. When you set a value, import, then set the value back to the previous one and import again, I would expect no assets to be changed, because I haven't actually changed any values. But Unity assumes that I want to know the time of the last import and updates the timeCreated flag. This might be helpful in some cases, but in a lot of other cases, I don't want this to ever be updated, because it causes changes for my source control system.

    At least, there should be an option to set this behaviour from code, so I can chose if I want to update the timeCreated flag or not. Or better, allow changing of textures in the editor without having to import the asset multiple times, just to set a temporary value.
     
  10. delexaet

    delexaet

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Just wondering, have there been any followup on this issue?