Search Unity

Why the hell does Unity's 2D interface work with X and Y?

Discussion in '2D' started by Bridgeman, Apr 13, 2014.

1. Bridgeman

Bridgeman

As a 2D developer, I can't work with X and Y. 2D games don't use X and Y, they use pixels. Let's say I've made my pixel art background on a size of 640x480. Now how do I know what the appropiate X and Y values are in Unity to display it so that it's not stretched out, or squashed in?

Being used to an engine like Game Maker, this sort of stuff just annoys me. What is X? What does it represent? How many pixels is "1 X" in Unity?

Can't they just use pixel values for their 2D interface?

2. Loius

Loius

Just set up your ortho camera's size so it matches your resolution, then your X and Y are pixel values.

3. Bridgeman

Bridgeman

How do I do that?

4. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator

It's best not to think in terms of pixels anyway. Unity is a 3D engine, and uses arbitrary units for everything. Since screen sizes and resolutions are all different, trying to use a fixed pixel resolution for the game is usually not a good idea. Scaling is fine; for example FTL is a pixel-art game and still looks totally fine in stretched full-screen (scaled up from 1280x720).

--Eric

5. Bridgeman

Bridgeman

So in short Unity is useless as a 2D engine

6. Thomas-Pasieka

Thomas-Pasieka

I am not sure if I should take you serious or not. There are plenty of great 2D games made with Unity (finished) out there. Your statement doesn't put a good light on you. May I suggest putting some more time and effort into whatever you're doing before coming around with headlines such as "Why the hell does Unity's 2D interface work with X and Y?" and phrases like "So in short Unity is useless as a 2D engine".

In essence you can think of the 3 axis as in....

Y represents up/down
    X represents left/right
    Z represents front/back

Pretty simple.

7. Eric5h5

Eric5h5