Search Unity

why not windows ?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by ducnguyen36, Mar 7, 2018.

1. ducnguyen36

ducnguyen36

I have a question, why we use linux dev unity, why not windows and what
    performance between linux and windows ?

2. Ryiah

Ryiah

Some of us want to be on Windows, some of us want to be on macOS, and some of us want to be on Linux.

Nothing prevents you from writing games for another operating system on your operating system of choice.

Performance is mostly dependent on the game you're making. Choice of OS won't have a meaningful impact on that.

VitruvianStickFigure likes this.
  3. ducnguyen36

ducnguyen36

nice, I want to dev game in gentoo linux, but why I don't see unity linux download in homepage

4. ducnguyen36

ducnguyen36

in linux have some problem, not same in windows and Mac OSS, sorry if I make me

uncomfortable, I am a newbie with unity :D

5. Ryiah

Ryiah

There are downloads in the release notes and known issues thread. Last post has the latest release.

https://forum.unity.com/threads/uni...s-and-known-issues.350256/page-2#post-3398912

Just keep in mind they only officially support Ubuntu. You may end up having to troubleshoot yourself on Gentoo.

Last edited: Mar 7, 2018
    ducnguyen36 likes this.
  6. ducnguyen36

ducnguyen36

I hope you will help me learn unity :D

7. u_rs

u_rs

Not very true.
    I remember time when Unity builds on Linux was loading computer's CPU harshly. And in some of the last builds that problem returned, but not in such severe form.
    If I run Windows then my computer becoming noticeably slower in general, looks like everything happen slower then.
    So if we have good enough build for Linux then better use Linux.

8. VitruvianStickFigure

VitruvianStickFigure

Well, it's important to consider that Linux was in an alpha stage for a while. (It may still be.) That tends to open a project up to lagginess, though I still enjoy using it.