Search Unity

Why Might Adding An Animation Controller Cause a Character to Lose Movement?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by redapplesonly, Apr 2, 2023.

1. redapplesonly

redapplesonly

Hi all, I'm a Unity newbie, working through this awesome tutorial to build my first 2D game. The game is a side scroller, where you control a player character, using only the <-- and --> characters (left and right arrows). The character's image is built from multiple sprites (see below). When I fire up the game and press the arrow keys, the character zips to the right and the left perfectly, as it should. But then, when I add an animation, the character properly animates, but no longer moves right or left. The animation seems to be interfering with moving the character.

First, some context: I am on Unity 2022.2.10f1 on a Windows 11 machine. My version of Microsoft Visual Studio is Version 17.5.3.

Now to describe my character. (Her name is "Eater", as she's a girl who races left and right across the bottom of the screen trying to catch and eat food that is randomly dropping from the sky.) As I said, the Eater character is made up of multiple sprites. In an attempt to keep organized, I hierarchically placed those sprites in parent containers. (See "Character Heirachy" image, attached) The following code is attached to the player to cause her to move:

Code (CSharp):
    1.     void Start()
    2.     {
    3.         rb = GetComponent<Rigidbody2D>();
    4.         anim = GetComponent<Animator>();
    5.     }
    7.     // Update is called once per frame
    8.     void Update()
    9.     {
    10.         if (input != 0)
    11.         {
    12.             // Player is moving
    13.             anim.SetBool("isRunning", true);
    14.         }
    15.         else
    16.         {
    17.             anim.SetBool("isRunning", false);
    18.         }
    20.         if (input < 0)
    21.         {
    22.             // Player is moving right