Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Why is Unity 5 connecting to pixel.invitemedia.com?

Discussion in 'Unity 5 Pre-order Beta' started by Jaimi, Oct 27, 2014.

  1. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,245
    My firewall reports a connection to pixel.invitemedia.com.

    Looking at pixel.invitemedia.com they explain:

    Invite Media is a high impact demand-side platform that enables advertisers, agencies and agency trading desks to use real-time bidding to buy and optimize online media

    Buyers can use Invite Media's technology to set up and manage automated strategies to help facilitate intelligent buying across all major sources of real-time bidded inventory, all in a single interface. With the ability to apply data from any major source, plus the freedom to create business rules for bidding and optimization, Invite Media gives buyers flexible control over campaign performance.


     
  2. Noctys

    Noctys

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Posts:
    37
    I am not showing them as being accessed by myself anytime in the last 48 hours. Are you sure it's related to Unity. This is everything Unity connects to on my machine:

    Capture.PNG

    Lablet is the name of the machine I am currently on.
     
  3. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,245
    Yes, but I'm on a Mac. It pops up when the initial dialog allowing you to select your project is displayed.

     
  4. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    That's Little Snitch, not your firewall. Here, Little Snitch reports access to liquid9.unity3d.com and update.unity3d.com, as well as Google Analytics if you have editor analytics turned on. But nothing else. When Little Snitch informs you about connecting to the site, you can try clicking on the site name and it will tell you about other host names with the same IP address if there are any, which might give you some relevant information.

    --Eric
     
  5. Jaimi

    Jaimi

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Posts:
    6,245
    Thanks, yes you're right, Little Snitch is the firewall that I use.

    Strange that you're not seeing it on the initial window. Perhaps they're using an embedded web browser, and some javascript or cookie on my machine is making it do something different...
     
  6. Dustin-Horne

    Dustin-Horne

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    4,568
    It is most likely for application usage analytics. If you're worried about it, just block it (unless it's for licensing). Lots of apps actually do this. A good example is Photoshop... if you've ever run Photoshop CS6 (desktop version), fire it up and poke around at the traffic with Wireshark. You'll see all kinds of analytics data from the splash screen into the application and you can decrypt it to see what it's sending. It's all mundane and not personally identifiable, but interesting. My guess is that, at least for the Beta, Unity is doing some analytics tracking.
     
  7. Eric5h5

    Eric5h5

    Volunteer Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Posts:
    32,401
    Well, yes it is, but as I mentioned it uses Google Analytics for that.

    --Eric