Search Unity

  1. Looking for a job or to hire someone for a project? Check out the re-opened job forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

why is unity 2017.3.0f3 using bleeding edge mono.exe and not the standard one?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by Arcanor, Jan 31, 2018.

  1. Arcanor

    Arcanor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    When rebuilding, I look at my system process list and unity spawns two consecutive instances of mono.exe.

    But why does unity select the version of mono.exe here:
    C:\Program Files\Unity\2017.3.0f3\Editor\Data\MonoBleedingEdge\bin

    instead of where I think it should be here:
    C:\Program Files\Unity\2017.3.0f3\Editor\Data\Mono\bin
     
  2. Joe-Censored

    Joe-Censored

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Posts:
    10,262
    You using .NET 4.6?
     
  3. Arcanor

    Arcanor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    No. I'm using the most conservative settings in the editor.

    Scripting Runtime Version => Stable (.NET 3.5 Equivalent)
    Api Compatibility Level => .NET 2.0 Subset
     
  4. Arcanor

    Arcanor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    Are others seeing the same thing? Is 2017.3.0f3 simply designed to use the bleeding edge mono.exe? Or is there something wrong here with my setup?

    Or is this a bug/oversight by Unity, where they meant to use the normal (non-bleeding-edge) mono.exe but didn't do so?

    Is this something I should be concerned about?

    Is there a way to configure it locally?
     
  5. Arcanor

    Arcanor

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Posts:
    277
    is this a bug?
     
  6. MostHated

    MostHated

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Posts:
    1,065
    I am using 2017.3.0f3 and have seen it say bleeding edge as well.
     
unityunity