Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Why is my speedtree grass like something out of a bad cartoon

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Hawk0077, Nov 20, 2017.

1. Hawk0077

Hawk0077

Hi, I am completely new to unity and am just finding my feet. I purchased speedtree grass pack believing it would be better than the default grass but basically wasted over $100 on it as its a complete joke. RATHER, I dont know how to do it so it looks like something out of a really bad cartoon.

I am using TerrainComposer and the grass looks reasonable until I add a height mask which shouldnt change the quality of the grass but it does.

Take a look and you will see it is a joke, I am almost ambarassed to put it up, but surely grass should look like grass out of the box.

I read that speedtree grass has to be added as a tree but cant find my way around the "space between trees" in TerrainComposer.

The image below was taken at 512 resolution and increasing that just makes the grass look like "Lots of Joke Grass".

Heres the gra... image:

Seriously? $100+???

As you can see noone has ever created grass this bad in the history of creating grass.
    I have lowered the height to try and blend the grass with the splat but it just aint having it.

Any help/pointers appreciated, thanks.

By the way, I dont know anything about billbards and meshes so can only use the 2d bad grass above.

2. Tset_Tsyung

Tset_Tsyung

Hi there Hawk0077,

Don't Despair! I'm sure that we can resolve this and get it looking how it should. If not me, then certainly someone else.

Just a few questions to help: