Search Unity

Why i'm starting to hate unity.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by andoo001, Jan 30, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. andoo001

andoo001

As a solo dev, i was drawn to unity for its simplistic approach to multiple platform development. Yet unity is trying to catch up to unreal as a AAA engine and pushing indie devs to the side.

A 3 year LTS means nothing when you have to either have a current project, watching all the class name changes/deprecations, added 'features' that few unity users need and general lack of consideration for the solo/small studio devs.

At the end of an LTS, if you haven't had a project up to date, you are completely lost when your code throws up 1000 errors.

Next Unity Hub. T-H-E W-O-R-S-T thing that has happened to unity. Sure you can manage the unity stream your using more easily, but who remembers when unity editor used to throw up a dialogue saying "there is a newer version of the unity editor, click here to install"? Now we are expected to randomly click on the 'Version' button to check where we are at, LTS INCLUDED.

I mean LTS should JUST WORK its the fourth iteration for the year, you mark a version LTS it should be fine. 2019.4 was not the case and needed a patch for people to build their projects with IL2CPP and ARM64 (If you're a google dev you'd know 64 bit builds are now compulsory), other users marked complaints about this as 'RESOLVED' by rolling back to 2019.3......NO.....A ROLLBACK IS NEVER A SOLUTION and it only took 8 of these idiots to close a thread as resolved.

If you're using unity hoping for more AAA features, simply put, you're doing it wrong.

Just go and click on unreals new features page. IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH API, I'ts already solid, what are they adding? New water /ocean features, better ways to animate (mechanim avatar system is a joke).