Search Unity

Why does unity have 70x70, 90x90 and 120x120 icons for UWP wen visual studio does not?

Discussion in 'Windows' started by MarcusTheMainMan, Mar 20, 2019.

  1. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    I have been getting errors in visual studio building to UWP. I noticed that in Unity, under the UWP, under the store logo, there are 3 icon sizes that are listed (70x70, 90x90 and 120x120) that are not in visual studio. I tried looking these up on microsoft's site that lists the icon sizes and did not see them. So why does unity include them? is this some legacy issue?

    Also, can't unity just name these in the unity editor the same names as they are in visual studio?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      46.2 KB
      Views:
      173
    • 2.PNG
      2.PNG
      File size:
      24.4 KB
      Views:
      166
  2. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    Looks like a leftover from Windows Phone 8.1 and Windows 8 support. Can we get a bug port for this?
     
  3. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    Thanks for the reply. I do have another issue with this. The 1240x1240 icon (which is 310x310 at 400%) is a PNG. I create it in photoshop, import it in unity, then assign it to the correct box on settings. I go to visual studio and make a build for the store. It builds for 2 hours and then at the very end says it can not build it. The file size is to large. It seems that a 1240x1240 png is just over the limit for visual studio to make into a UWP.

    So how does one fix this? JPG?
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      24.2 KB
      Views:
      155
    • 2.PNG
      2.PNG
      File size:
      64.4 KB
      Views:
      148
    • 3.PNG
      3.PNG
      File size:
      8.7 KB
      Views:
      136
  4. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    You could either use JPG, or try using higher compression settings for the PNG. Their only rule as far as I know is that the icon must be 200 KB or less. I am not familiar with photoshop so I don't know if it's possible to do it there. I heard people had success with https://tinypng.com/.
     
  5. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    Some of the file types do not have alpha channels so JPG would not work. I did go to that tinypng.com website and in 2 seconds it compressed the 2.1 meg file down to 1.5 meg. This gets it under the correct file size. Now I will see if visual studio excepts it.

    Photoshop has 2 compression setting. Mine was done on the max one (which is the standard setting).

    This should also be announced in unity. When attached to the proper icons to the box, it should check to see if its under the proper file size.
    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2019
  6. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    If you could drop a bug report about that too (so it doesn't get lost and can be properly tracked), I'm sure we could implement it :).
     
  7. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    I was wondering if someone could help me out on this. I have exported to windows, Linux and android just fine. Now when I do the UWP it gives this error. Does anyone know what the problem might be? I have no idea of how to fix this.

    ===================
    Crashes and hangs
    • Error Found: The crashes and hangs test detected the following errors:
      • Executable C:\... was detected by Windows Error Reporting and experienced a crash or hang.
      • Application ... was detected by Windows Error Reporting and experienced a crash or hang.
      • Crash dump file C:\...\user\AppData\Local\Microsoft\AppCertKit\RuntimeBroker.exe.4856.dmp was created by Windows Error Reporting and provides additional information.
    • Impact if not fixed: An app that stops responding or crashes can cause data loss and is a poor user experience.
    • How to fix: Investigate and debug the app to identify and fix the problem.
    =================

    Dump Summary
    ------------
    Dump File: RuntimeBroker.exe.4856.dmp : C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\Microsoft\AppCertKit\RuntimeBroker.exe.4856.dmp
    Last Write Time: 3/20/2019 8:18:43 PM
    Process Name: RuntimeBroker.exe : C:\Windows\System32\RuntimeBroker.exe
    Process Architecture: x64
    Exception Code: 0xC0000005
    Exception Information: The thread tried to read from or write to a virtual address for which it does not have the appropriate access.
    Heap Information: Not Present
    System Information
    ------------------
    OS Version: 10.0.17763
    CLR Version(s):
    Modules
    -------
    Module Name Module Path Module Version
    ----------- ----------- --------------
    RuntimeBroker.exe C:\Windows\System32\RuntimeBroker.exe 10.0.17763.1
    ntdll.dll C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll 10.0.17763.348
    kernel32.dll C:\Windows\System32\kernel32.dll 10.0.17763.379
    KERNELBASE.dll C:\Windows\System32\KERNELBASE.dll 10.0.17763.348
    ucrtbase.dll C:\Windows\System32\ucrtbase.dll 10.0.17763.348
    combase.dll C:\Windows\System32\combase.dll 10.0.17763.253
    rpcrt4.dll C:\Windows\System32\rpcrt4.dll 10.0.17763.379
    bcryptPrimitives.dll C:\Windows\System32\bcryptPrimitives.dll 10.0.17763.1
    powrprof.dll C:\Windows\System32\powrprof.dll 10.0.17763.1
    sechost.dll C:\Windows\System32\sechost.dll 10.0.17763.1
    kernel.appcore.dll C:\Windows\System32\kernel.appcore.dll 10.0.17763.1
    msvcrt.dll C:\Windows\System32\msvcrt.dll 7.0.17763.1
    rmclient.dll C:\Windows\System32\rmclient.dll 10.0.17763.194
    ole32.dll C:\Windows\System32\ole32.dll 10.0.17763.134
    advapi32.dll C:\Windows\System32\advapi32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    gdi32.dll C:\Windows\System32\gdi32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    gdi32full.dll C:\Windows\System32\gdi32full.dll 10.0.17763.316
    msvcp_win.dll C:\Windows\System32\msvcp_win.dll 10.0.17763.348
    user32.dll C:\Windows\System32\user32.dll 10.0.17763.168
    win32u.dll C:\Windows\System32\win32u.dll 10.0.17763.1
    imm32.dll C:\Windows\System32\imm32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    clbcatq.dll C:\Windows\System32\clbcatq.dll 2001.12.10941.16384
    Windows.Devices.Enumeration.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.Devices.Enumeration.dll 10.0.17763.1
    oleaut32.dll C:\Windows\System32\oleaut32.dll 10.0.17763.292
    cfgmgr32.dll C:\Windows\System32\cfgmgr32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    SHCore.dll C:\Windows\System32\SHCore.dll 10.0.17763.1
    deviceassociation.dll C:\Windows\System32\deviceassociation.dll 10.0.17763.1
    propsys.dll C:\Windows\System32\propsys.dll 7.0.17763.348
    StructuredQuery.dll C:\Windows\System32\StructuredQuery.dll 7.0.17763.1
    profapi.dll C:\Windows\System32\profapi.dll 10.0.17763.1
    MSWB7.dll C:\Windows\System32\MSWB7.dll 10.0.17763.1
    Windows.ApplicationModel.Store.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.ApplicationModel.Store.dll 10.0.17763.1
    cryptsp.dll C:\Windows\System32\cryptsp.dll 10.0.17763.1
    cabinet.dll C:\Windows\System32\cabinet.dll 5.0.1.1
    iertutil.dll C:\Windows\System32\iertutil.dll 11.0.17763.379
    winhttp.dll C:\Windows\System32\winhttp.dll 10.0.17763.316
    webservices.dll C:\Windows\System32\webservices.dll 10.0.17763.1
    Windows.StateRepositoryPS.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.StateRepositoryPS.dll 10.0.17763.1
    OneCoreUAPCommonProxyStub.dll C:\Windows\System32\OneCoreUAPCommonProxyStub.dll 10.0.17763.348
    Windows.Web.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.Web.dll 10.0.17763.253
    twinapi.appcore.dll C:\Windows\System32\twinapi.appcore.dll 10.0.17763.292
    wuapi.dll C:\Windows\System32\wuapi.dll 10.0.17763.168
    crypt32.dll C:\Windows\System32\crypt32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    msasn1.dll C:\Windows\System32\msasn1.dll 10.0.17763.1
    WinTypes.dll C:\Windows\System32\WinTypes.dll 10.0.17763.134
    wups.dll C:\Windows\System32\wups.dll 10.0.17763.1
    msxml6.dll C:\Windows\System32\msxml6.dll 6.30.17763.379
    Windows.Web.Http.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.Web.Http.dll 10.0.17763.1
    wininet.dll C:\Windows\System32\wininet.dll 11.0.17763.316
    sspicli.dll C:\Windows\System32\sspicli.dll 10.0.17763.1
    windows.storage.dll C:\Windows\System32\windows.storage.dll 10.0.17763.348
    shlwapi.dll C:\Windows\System32\shlwapi.dll 10.0.17763.1
    ws2_32.dll C:\Windows\System32\ws2_32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    ondemandconnroutehelper.dll C:\Windows\System32\ondemandconnroutehelper.dll 10.0.17763.1
    mswsock.dll C:\Windows\System32\mswsock.dll 10.0.17763.292
    firewallapi.dll C:\Windows\System32\firewallapi.dll 10.0.17763.1
    dnsapi.dll C:\Windows\System32\dnsapi.dll 10.0.17763.292
    nsi.dll C:\Windows\System32\nsi.dll 10.0.17763.1
    IPHLPAPI.DLL C:\Windows\System32\IPHLPAPI.DLL 10.0.17763.1
    fwbase.dll C:\Windows\System32\fwbase.dll 10.0.17763.1
    winnsi.dll C:\Windows\System32\winnsi.dll 10.0.17763.1
    urlmon.dll C:\Windows\System32\urlmon.dll 11.0.17763.379
    CRYPTBASE.DLL C:\Windows\System32\CRYPTBASE.DLL 10.0.17763.1
    rasadhlp.dll C:\Windows\System32\rasadhlp.dll 10.0.17763.1
    FWPUCLNT.DLL C:\Windows\System32\FWPUCLNT.DLL 10.0.17763.1
    bcrypt.dll C:\Windows\System32\bcrypt.dll 10.0.17763.1
    schannel.dll C:\Windows\System32\schannel.dll 10.0.17763.1
    mskeyprotect.dll C:\Windows\System32\mskeyprotect.dll 10.0.17763.1
    ncrypt.dll C:\Windows\System32\ncrypt.dll 10.0.17763.1
    ntasn1.dll C:\Windows\System32\ntasn1.dll 10.0.17763.1
    dpapi.dll C:\Windows\System32\dpapi.dll 10.0.17763.1
    wintrust.dll C:\Windows\System32\wintrust.dll 10.0.17763.348
    rsaenh.dll C:\Windows\System32\rsaenh.dll 10.0.17763.1
    cryptnet.dll C:\Windows\System32\cryptnet.dll 10.0.17763.1
    ncryptsslp.dll C:\Windows\System32\ncryptsslp.dll 10.0.17763.1
    certenroll.dll C:\Windows\System32\certenroll.dll 10.0.17763.1
    certca.dll C:\Windows\System32\certca.dll 10.0.17763.1
    Wldap32.dll C:\Windows\System32\Wldap32.dll 10.0.17763.1
    dsparse.dll C:\Windows\System32\dsparse.dll 10.0.17763.1
    mlang.dll C:\Windows\System32\mlang.dll 10.0.17763.1
    Windows.Globalization.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.Globalization.dll 10.0.17763.292
    Bcp47Langs.dll C:\Windows\System32\Bcp47Langs.dll 10.0.17763.1
    BCP47mrm.dll C:\Windows\System32\BCP47mrm.dll 10.0.17763.1
    Windows.Security.Authentication.Web.Core.dll C:\Windows\System32\Windows.Security.Authentication.Web.Core.dll 10.0.17763.292
    OneCoreCommonProxyStub.dll C:\Windows\System32\OneCoreCommonProxyStub.dll 10.0.17763.1
    vaultcli.dll C:\Windows\System32\vaultcli.dll 10.0.17763.1
    usermgrproxy.dll C:\Windows\System32\usermgrproxy.dll 10.0.17763.1
    usermgrcli.dll C:\Windows\System32\usermgrcli.dll 10.0.17763.1
    userenv.dll C:\Windows\System32\userenv.dll 10.0.17763.1
    MicrosoftAccountWAMExtension.dll C:\Windows\System32\MicrosoftAccountWAMExtension.dll 10.0.17763.1
     
  8. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    Here's 1 more thing. In unity, in the UWP area, under the player settings, under publisher settings, there is a version. It can be 1.0.0.0. It is 4 numbers. The last number must be 0 to be accepted on the Microsoft store. It will pass all the tests but after you upload it to the Microsoft store for UWP. it will fail. Now that we know that, why does unity allow you to change this number in the unity editor? Instead of 2.0.0.4 (fail), it should be 2.0.4.0 (version 2.04). Can't unity just not allow the final number to be anything other than 0? Microsoft changes this last number so must be 0.

    It's almost like unity hasn't really fine tuned your UWP stuff yet.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.PNG
      1.PNG
      File size:
      7.1 KB
      Views:
      131
    • 2.PNG
      2.PNG
      File size:
      14.8 KB
      Views:
      148
  9. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    That looks like another oversight. You're right, we should not allow you to specify revision number other than zero. I guess nobody really ran into this before and we didn't notice it ourselves.

    Were you able to figure out the runtime broker issue? I'm surprised running app cert kit on your app causes that Windows process to crash.
     
  10. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    No. I have no idea of what it means or how to fix it. It works fine for me sideloaded. the other versions on windows, Linux and android work fine. That is all the info the visual studio gave me for the fail.
     
  11. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    Does this happen when you run app cert kit locally or when you upload the game to the dev center?
     
  12. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    This happens locally on my old crappy computer. I submitted it to the UPS store earlier today and it is still pending app certification. I am just hoping they approve it. A long shot but whatever.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    It's very likely that is an issue with the app cert tool locally - it is known to not be very stable. Many people into issues using it, unfortunately. Considering you got through preprocessing stage, it will probably be accepted to the store. Let us know how it goes :).
     
  14. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196

    It failed for the 10th time. I've been trying to get this passed sense Saturday last week. However, this time it got to Microsoft (a first). The following is their report. From the main menu are 3 buttons. This works for us fine on every platform including windows 10. I think the issue may be whoever tried testing it tried using the joystick studs and not the d-pad (analog verses digital) and just failed it. Although the 'pro store' did pop up, so I guess that means I need to use a directive to hide it in Xbox. It normally is hidden in windows as it's a 1 time payment.

    ===========
    App Policies: 10.1.2 Promised Functionality

    Notes To Developer

    Unfortunately, we can’t test your app, the app's primary functions are not usable.
    On Xbox, " Exit Game, Pro Store, Start menu" buttons can't be used.
     
  15. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    I'm shocked. Microsoft actually approved it. (It did take 10 days of error and error). I'm also surprised that even when the test failed on my computer it passed on theirs. Thanks for your help.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    OK, here is another one you can pass on to the powers that be. If you build to Microsoft store, it will fail if you do not have the splash images> windows. There are 7 of these. You do not have to fill these in Unity, but when Microsoft certifies the app, it will fail. Now that we know this, can't unity just require you to have them? or at least give a error or something?

    Player settings
    Splash image section
    windows
    7 slots (scale 100% 620x300)


    you're welcome.
     

    Attached Files:

    • a.PNG
      a.PNG
      File size:
      26.1 KB
      Views:
      56
    • b.PNG
      b.PNG
      File size:
      62.7 KB
      Views:
      53
    • c.PNG
      c.PNG
      File size:
      23.4 KB
      Views:
      56
  17. Tautvydas-Zilys

    Tautvydas-Zilys

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2013
    Posts:
    6,424
    You have to only fill in one of them. Unity doesn't require them because you don't need them to be able to run the app locally.

    Didn't you get alerted by a large weird default splashscreen when you launched your game?
     
  18. MarcusTheMainMan

    MarcusTheMainMan

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Posts:
    196
    If that was true then why when building an android version unity will give warnings in the console saying that PNG icons should not be compressed? The game runs fine locally with compressed PNG icons under android but unity lets you know that it is better to have the PNG icons uncompressed. This is what unity should do for the Microsoft store stuff as well. With the unity android build it lets you know this stuff but not so with the Microsoft store build.


    BTW: in photoshop it defaults to compressed PNGs so they are smaller in size. When saving them you have to tell photoshop not to compress them. When building in unity to android build it properly looks to see if an icon is compressed and lets you know in the console.This is good that unity does that.