Search Unity

Why does the FPSSample codebase look so foreign?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by Bazz_boyy, Jul 2, 2020.

1. Bazz_boyy

Bazz_boyy

I downloaded the FPSSample to get some ideas of what a well designed game code base in unity looks like and good lord it appears so foreign to any of the code ive seen in any unity related tutorial I've watched or codebase I've worked with Why is this the case? Is it because the whole game is built on top of this network infrastructure? Almost all the classes implement IComponentData or CharDataFactory or BaseComponentDataSystem... etc. I've been developing games professionally for 2-3 years and looking at this code base makes me feel like john snow.

If anyone knows any open-source unity projects with really clean code bases (Non-networked), please do show :,D

Last edited: Jul 2, 2020
  2. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

Well, it kinda is foreign tech... it is written as a hybrid classic Unity (what you've seen) and the new and evolving ECS/DOTS system, which you can google/read about.

One man's clean is another man's nightmare. Your best bet is to just dive into any project and root through until you understand what's going on a little bit.

I actually gave a talk a year or two ago about one of the best ways to get familiar with any arbitrary project is to look around and use it, then say "I want to change X!" and steadily make X get more and more complicated. Start with trivial, such as "Change the name of the title page!" and move onto the more complex. Take your time, use lots of googling, and if you do that for some breadth of projects over some period of time, you will find suddenly your skill stack has become really flexible.