Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Why does one team always dominate

Discussion in 'ML-Agents' started by csmehmetyazici99, Jan 10, 2022.

1. csmehmetyazici99

csmehmetyazici99

I have created a capture the flag environment with fairly simple rewards. Getting the enemies flag to your base gives you 1 reward plus a time reward that can go up to 0.4, and gives the enemy -0.5 reward for losing and the environment starts again. Somewhere near the 40 minute mark the red team has won somewhere near 800 times and the blue team has won somewhere near the 500s. After 2 hours I see that the red team has won 80000 times and blues have won only 800. I was wondering what causes this, is my game too simple? Why isn't blue competitive with red even though it won 800 times ?

I am a complete beginner and I would like any kind of help, I feel like I could be misunderstanding something real simple.
    PS. I have tried numerous yaml files and I have tried a lot of variations but mostly taken them from credible sources making similar games.

2. mbaske

mbaske

Sounds like your agents' observations might not be fully symmetrical. Maybe they are observing positions / velocities, but you didn't invert the x/z vectors for one side?

csmehmetyazici99 likes this.
  3. csmehmetyazici99

csmehmetyazici99

Thank you for your answer, I wasn't aware that I needed to do this, and after some digging I haven't been able to find a source that does this, Is this definitely necessary ?

Below are my Observations and Actions I would really appreciate it if you could take a look at them and tell me if you see anything wrong with them.

public override void CollectObservations(VectorSensor sensor)
    {
    sensor.AddObservation(transform.localPosition);
    sensor.AddObservation(BlueFlagTransform.localPosition);