Search Unity

Why do unity games have the unity look?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Sounds-Wonderful, Dec 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sounds-Wonderful

Sounds-Wonderful

I can immediately say, which platform was used for a game, even which rendering engine, without having seen the logo or entry dialogue.

Typical of OpenGL is amnesia. This is what to me all OpenGL games look like. Unity games show simple forms and rarely any realism. Seems to have it's cause in lighting and low polygon count.

What is your take on this?

Last edited: Dec 15, 2013
  2. Meltdown

Meltdown

You're generalising, probably from looking at WIP or Collab threads where many posts are just some simple Unity terrain slapped together for the 'next big RPG, FPS or MMO'.

There are tons of games out there you would have no clue they were done in Unity. I've been using Unity for over 4 years now and am still happily surprised when I find out a certain title was done in Unity.

3. SteveJ

SteveJ

Unless the Unity GUI is used, there's NOTHING that identifies a game as having been made with Unity. There's certainly no such thing as the "Unity Look".

4. angrypenguin

angrypenguin

I wouldn't necessarily agree with that. I've often looked at screenies or videos of projects and asked "Did you make that in Unity?" and the answer is yes. Same deal with Unreal/UDK.

I think that more than anything it comes down to lighting models and/or base shaders. It's a lot of work to change those things out, so it doesn't always happen, and it's rare in indie or low budget titles.

As for the OP, though, the idea that Unity games and OpenGL games each have their own distinctive look shoots the premise in the foot. Unity games commonly are OpenGL games, so the idea that there's a Unity look and an OpenGL look and that they're different shows that it's not the engine, renderer or API that gives the look - it's what the developer does with them.

5. Yoska

Yoska