Search Unity

Why do my games suck?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GWUnity, Feb 1, 2021.

1. GWUnity

GWUnity

I've been experimenting with Unity for a few years now and have created a couple of games. I thought they were unique and entertaining, but apparently they have missed the mark. So I'm trying to figure out what I missed. What do these games lack? Are they too boring and not engaging enough? Are they too difficult, annoying, or too simplistic? Can games succeed without a substantial social media presence these days? (Growing a social media presence seems to be far more difficult and time consuming than developing the games.) Where do you focus? How important is feedback from social media during the development stage?

I would welcome any feedback (constructive, if possible) from developers. How have you achieved success, no matter how small?

My games are on Google play:
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.goldwave.mazepic
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.goldwave.ThreeBlindMice

Chris

2. Amon

Amon

Brother, both those games look cool, especially MazeEpic. In fact MazeEpic stands out more than the other game for me because I've not seen anything similar before.

I apologize for not playing both games before posting this but, I'm confident that you have the technical prowess to achieve success with games and I would recommend that you keep at it. Build a catalogue of games and be patient. It's not like it was a decade ago where success on stores like GooglePlay and iOS would make you millions.

Marketing is most probably where you have fallen down because as I see it now there's nothing wrong with those games. I definitely think MazeEpic though has potential to grow and become extra special.

GWUnity and Ryiah like this.
  3. Antypodish

Antypodish