Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question Why did my Unity Linux server crash without a stack trace?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Ann_17, May 26, 2023.

1. Ann_17

Ann_17

I'm glad to be able to discuss Unity-related content with everyone on the forum. As a beginner to Unity, I have a lot of knowledge that I don't understand, so I hope everyone can teach me.

My project uses C# as the development language and uses Unity's Headless Mode (i.e. Linux Build) as the game server. In certain scenarios, my Linux server will crash, and Unity will produce corresponding crash logs. What puzzles me is that the log of the crash only has a prediction similar to
    "Caught fatal signal - signo:11 code:1 errno:0 addr:0x7f4f62da8138",
    but there is no complete stack trace information.

I have read a lot of information, which shows that Unity crashes often have complete stack trace information, such as:
    Obtained XXX stack frames.
    #0 0x007f509d4c0600 in _L_unlock_13
    #1 0x007f509af778e7 in GC_mark_from
    #2 0x007f509af728b9 in GC_mark_some

………………

So my question is, how can I obtain the complete stack trace information when my Linux server crashes? Without this stack trace information, I won't be able to solve the bugs in my project.
    Thank you very much for your help.

2. Ann_17

Ann_17

"Just to add, the Unity version I'm using is 2021.3.5f1."

3. karliss_coldwild

karliss_coldwild

> So my question is, how can I obtain the complete stack trace information when my Linux server crashes? Without this stack trace information, I won't be able to solve the bugs in my project.

There is a chance that it is the complete stacktrace.

Not all the crashes are the same. If it was a crash or more precisely uncaught exception in your C# code you probably would have seen a nicer looking stacktrace.