Search Unity

Why assets on the Unity store are so cheap?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Brighteye_Kr, Feb 4, 2020.

1. Brighteye_Kr

Brighteye_Kr

Hello, I'm a student, and I'm new to Unity.

After 10 hours of exploring the Unity Assets it just blows my mind, but also trigger my defend mechanic in my brain too.

There are so many great contents here, and a lot of them are so cheap (way too cheap).

For example, this hold pack is just 15 USD, are you kidding me !? but hold on, there are more. So many good PBR content are below 100 USD, but wait what !? they give you a hold city !?

Is this a normal thing here? because this is NOT a normal thing from where I came from. Is this reliable or can be used in the real game development ? because if these things can be used in the real developing process it would be so awesome.

2. mgear

mgear

you can create such materials with substance tools,
    so i guess they cannot be too expensive (since there are many free substances available also)

Brighteye_Kr likes this.
  3. Brighteye_Kr

Brighteye_Kr

I'm not a professional and I never used substance painter, but anyways I used to do a 3D model like this:

I used to hire people who do these kinds of thing and it cost me a lot, and after I saw this Asset Store it just blows my mind and couldn't believe it at the first sign.

I Google this topic for a while and It started to make sense now.

4. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

Yes, it's real. Custom services are always more expensive than stock products. That's because a custom product is sold only once; stock products (like these in the Asset Store) are hopefully sold many times to many customers.

Ryiah, Brighteye_Kr and hippocoder like this.
  5. Brighteye_Kr

Brighteye_Kr