Search Unity

Why are unity graphics fuzzy?

Discussion in 'General Graphics' started by Hawk0077, Nov 16, 2018.

1. Hawk0077

Hawk0077

Im new to unity but have been spending money buying great assets only to have them basically destroyed by unity. I know that sounds like a complaint but really I am not qualified to complain. I would just like top know if I am doing something fundamentally wrong.

In the edit window everything looks nice and sharp. But in the play window everything is fuzzed up. I am using a samsung 4k TV as a monitor with a GTX 1018Ti grapohics card so things should be all crystal clear sharp but if you look at the images below, especially the close grass.... (I understand far images get less detail by the mip settings per graphic etc).... you will see the grass is terrible and cheap looking instead of sharp and realistic/ish?

Is there a graphics setting I am missing somewhere?

2018-11-16.jpg

The above image on the p[lay side/right does have post processing applied a little but even without the grass and trees are stull fuzzy.

Any guidance appreciated, thanks

2. AcidArrow

AcidArrow

There is a slider on top of the game view, make sure it’s set to 1 (all the way to the left)

(And if that’s the case, dear Unity, maybe that slider was a bad idea? Maybe make it harder to change?)

Hawk0077 likes this.
  3. MSplitz-PsychoK

MSplitz-PsychoK

It could also be your anti-aliasing. It usually looks bad when game graphics have jagged edges, but sprites are made out of pixels, and pixel graphics naturally have jagged edges. Anti-aliasing is an effect that intentionally blends the edges of your objects with whats around them to make the edges "soft" and less jagged.

Try disabling MSAA on your camera, disable anti-aliasing in your Quality settings, and disabling the Anti-aliasing effect on your post-process stack (if you have it).

https://www.showthedata.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/anti-aliasing.jpg

Hawk0077 likes this.
  4. hippocoder

hippocoder