Search Unity

Why are there multiple Event metaphors in UIElements?

Discussion in 'UI Toolkit' started by SonicBloomEric, Jun 2, 2019.

1. SonicBloomEric

SonicBloomEric

I'm just beginning to play around with UIElements and I've been struggling with figuring out some basics. The biggest confusion has been how to hook into UI events of various types.

Why does the Button element have a "clickable" action?

Why do most other elements use "RegisterForEvent<EventType>" to receive callbacks?

Is there a method to the madness? Why aren't these consistent?

And why isn't the "clickable" event documented in the Events Reference? Why do I have to go to the Button class documentation to find out what "clickable" is?

SudoCat likes this.
  2. AlexandreT-unity

AlexandreT-unity

Unity Technologies

Hi SonicBloomEric,

Clickable is not an event, but a manipulator that wraps lower-level events and allows to get higher-level click-related callbacks and other features, such as being able to enable/disable clicking.

3. SonicBloomEric

SonicBloomEric

@AlexandreT-unity Neat. We're getting into semantics.

At the time I wrote this post I had not yet come across the term "Manipulator". The "Responding to Events" section of the documentation doesn't mention Manipulators even once. In fact, the only place the term is even mentioned in relation to UIElements in the entire manual is in the "Built-in Controls" section. And there it's simply dropped with no definition or explanation: it is expected that you understand the term already. The only hint is that the explanation suggests that adding a manipulator somehow "adds callbacks that respond to certain events".

This is... extremely confusing.

Is there somewhere to describe what a manipulator is and why they exist? From what I've seen they simply add an extra layer of callback confusion to the system.