Search Unity

While crashes Unity, then what?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by MinhocaNice, May 4, 2020.

1. MinhocaNice

MinhocaNice

Hello, I am quite new to game developing and I started trying to just make a very simple game just to get an idea of everything. I have just a tiny bit of experience in programming.

I made a C# script that had a while () {} command in it, and the entire editor just stopped. After reading some threads on the internet, I realise my mistake, as the while loop can't be broken ever, and therefore it freezes.

However, my question isn't about programming but rather about the editor itself.
    In the case of a program freeze, is there any command to halt the game, so the engine can work again?
    I made a lot of changes to my scene, so I didn't want to simply have to go to Task Manager and kill Unity task so I can restart.

It would be disappoiting if my simple programming mistake just completely crashed Unity.exe without any ways around this. It's not even considered an error at first place, so why does it freeze? I would expect it to freeze the game itself, but the entire editor?

2. PraetorBlue

PraetorBlue

MinhocaNice and Joe-Censored like this.
  3. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

Save scene before hitting the Play button, unless you are specifically messing with things you don't want saved. You can also consider using different types of loops which are less prone to becoming an infinite loop (foreach for example), using a coroutine with a yield (so even if infinite the editor would still get back control during the yield), or adding a fail safe to potential problem loops.

Code (csharp):
    1. public void ProblemFunction()
    2. {
    3.     int loops = 0;
    4.     while (true)
    5.     {
    6.         CallingSomethingUseful();
    8.         //Check for infinite loop
    9.         loops++;
    10.         if (loops > 10000)
    11.         {