Search Unity

Which order to create a game?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MBPictures, Mar 6, 2016.

1. MBPictures

MBPictures

Hello community,

I'm very new in developing games and I've some organizational questions.
    So.. in which order do you develop a game?
    I've expecially the idea of the game and a plot, some employee, Unity3D and the basic knowledge of how to code in Unity. For example, the control is finished.

What should I do first? The control i have yet but what are the steps now? First the terrain, the animations, the models? I've no idea.

Please help me guys! :)
    Glad to hearing from you.

BTW: It's a 3D Shooter.

2. ladyonthemoon

ladyonthemoon

Well, if you rally have no idea how to proceed why don't you just advance the obvious stuff you have to do? Like creating the models, level designing, creating the animations. That kind of things takes a long time to do in which you'll be able to think you project over, to refine it, on the paper. ;)

Kiwasi, QFSW and GarBenjamin like this.
  3. Fuzzy

Fuzzy

There's no fixed way to go, as far as i know even AAA studios have slightly differing orders in wich they do things.

But generally i try to stick to something like this:
    1. Get a rough idea of what i want to do (genre, core mechanics, rough setting)
    2. Build a quick prototype with placeholders (if it's nice to play proceed, if not go to step 1) - if possible let other people try it and get their opinions.
    3. Create something that could resemble a fully playable level and start adding first art assets
    4. If it still feels good continue adding art, look for sound & music and add functionality (script) where you feel it's necessary, like extra bits and pieces and interactable objects