Search Unity

Which of these game projects would be easiest for a non-programmer to make?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Sanhueza, Oct 11, 2017.

1. Sanhueza

Sanhueza

I am an experienced game artist and designer, who wants to use Unity to prototype my game ideas. Preferably, without doing any coding.

I have spent many years working in the AAA industry and on indie games (digital and tabletop), both in art and design. I even studied programming (C++ and Java) during my first 2 years in college. But it has been nearly 20 years since I last did any coding. I do not want to devote myself to the several years of study and practice that it would take to become a good game programmer. Being a 3D animator, 2D artist, art director, and game designer is already enough hats for me to juggle.

So what I am planning is to learn the basics of Unity by following the tutorials (Roll A Ball, Survival Shooter, Tanks, etc... yes I know these involve coding), and then learn to use a visual scripting tool like Playmaker (also through their tutorials.) I hope that by taking this approach, and purchasing extra goodies as needed from the Asset Store, I will be able to hack together some fun game prototypes on my own - without being a programmer.

I realize that it is unrealistic to think that I could finish a game project 100% without any coding... but hopefully this approach would at least allow me to put together some impressive demos/prototypes that could help recruit interested indie programmers, or could help raise funding to hire some.

My question is, for those of you who have tried making games in Unity with little or no coding, and for those of you who have programmed any of the types of games I'm about to list below, which of these game genres would be the easiest for a non-programmer to make, using Playmaker or a similar tool? Which one would you recommend attempting first?