Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Which graphics card for unity 4.6 and unity 5.0?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Artomiano, Jan 23, 2015.

1. Artomiano

Artomiano

Hi there,

I'm new at unity, but I plan to use it for real work, like simulation and (indy) game development (3d).

Shortly, I upgraded my computer to an intel Core i7-5820K (hexacore) with 32GB of RAM. Now I think about an upgrade for my old nVidia Geforce GTX460 (2GB). I think I have to upgrade it because of the bad performance in editor mode (4.6). In simple scenes, all is fine. But in comlex scenes, not. The picture is jerky when rotating and zooming continuously and the screen layout when pre-rendering is too slow.

What's my system: Windows 7 (Pro, 64). I use unity with some of the following plugins: TerrainComposer, WorldComposer, RTP3, Playmaker, AdventureCreator and some more - but not all at the same time.

What graphics cards can you recommend?

Best regards,
    Tom

2. Deon-Cadme

Deon-Cadme

I7 with 32GB of ram o_O Sounds like you must render a ton of videos and work with extreme resolution art.

Well... unity doesn't need much in general to run... your scene could lag for many reasons... but it looks like you got the money to spend and while you anyway started building an over-the-top computer, why not go for a GTX 980 so that you got a GPU to match that CPU and RAM.

Hope that it got a suitable motherboard and fast harddrive as well.