Search Unity

Which engine is best for 3D Artist within a large corporation?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Distant_Sky, Jul 26, 2017.

?

Which is best for Artist

1. Unity

100.0%
  2. Unreal

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. Distant_Sky

Distant_Sky

So my company is evaluating both Unity and UE4 as our next platform engine. So far people really like Unity for engineering. I need to know which is best for Artist (both 2D and 3D) as far as ease of use and built in features. Can you help me decide?
    Thanks

2. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

Neither - For 2D and 3D development - that will all be done externally. Plugging in 2D/3D content into either engine isn't difficult - just have to learn the process, and 'how' different set ups work in each engine.

I've read Unity is better for 2D development - but I have no hands on experience so I can't confirm that.
    Generic rigging for characters in Unity is utterly simple. Humanoid isn't terrible - but guidelines have to be followed.
    Legacy - not for artists.
    Environment stuff - simple importing and setting.
    In engine lighting and particles (lighting I haven't messed with extensively) but particle editor is very similar to any other particle editor in 3D packages.

Depending on how much the artist needs to work in each engine - depends on how much more the artist needs to know about the engine. Without knowing how much the artist has to do (in engine) a definitive answer is not available.
    Regardless of UE built in blue prints - which is a replacement to code - but thats what your engineers will be doing.

zombiegorilla likes this.
  3. neginfinity

neginfinity

2D -> Unity.
    3D -> Unity or Unreal.

Unreal has better out of the box settings for shaders, but is less suitable for non-photorealistic graphics and increases animation workflow (because it does not have an alternative to unity's mecanim)

You should evaluate both.

theANMATOR2b and zombiegorilla like this.
  4. zombiegorilla