Search Unity

Which approach to use for collision direction?

Discussion in 'Editor & General Support' started by HannesB, Oct 26, 2013.

1. HannesB

HannesB

hi,

i am an experienced C# developer and started learning unity some weeks ago. I already created a game in XNA that does the same i want to achive with unity, so this is a "learning game project" for me.

What i want to do is creating a game similar to this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J2Fyow70A1Q

...i have been playing this a really long time ago. :)

The "ball" is my player object. It has a rigidbody attached to detect collitions - it's not controlled by physics since this would not work that good in this game.

I want the ball to behave different, when it hits a brick or the walls, depending which part of the ball (top, bottom, left, right) has hit the brick or the walls. For example: bounce a bit to the left, when a brick was hit with the right side of the ball (as you can see in the video), change the move direction of the ball, when it hits with it's top/bottom.

So i do not only need to find out if a colission has occured - i also want to find out, which part (top, bottom, left, right) of the ball has collided. I tried, placing invisible blocks at the top, left, right, ... of the ball and use these blocks for colision detection but i don't know if this is a good idea so i wanted to ask unity developers with more experience, how you would solve this?

Unfortunately i found not tutorial for this - there are many tutorials for collision detection, but non where it matters, which part of the object collided.

thx for you help,
    Hannes

2. hippocoder

hippocoder

Digital Ape

3. HannesB

HannesB

hi,

i finally got it working the way i want, applaying some minor changes to the code from: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/339532/how-can-i-detect-which-side-of-a-box-i-collided-wi.html

Code (csharp):
    2. // create particle effect at collition point