Search Unity

Where to display the score in a VR game?

Discussion in 'Game Design' started by JoeStrout, Apr 12, 2018.

1. JoeStrout

JoeStrout

This is probably a dumb question, but as I'm still fairly new to it...

Is there a standard way/place to display a score in a VR game? I could use essentially a screen-space Canvas, and have it in a fixed position in your field of view. Or I could put it somewhere it space, which means you'd only see it when you happen to look in that direction.

I can see pros and cons to either way, but at the moment I'm leaning towards putting it somewhere in space, at least for a game where you don't move around much. On my Cardboard viewer, at least, I find that stuff near the periphery of the view gets hard to read.

But if there's a convention, I'd like to know about it before consciously choosing to ignore it!

2. Innovine

Innovine

I think it depends a lot on the game. I know I appreciate it when the score is integrated into the actual game environment. As an example, the RecRoom paintball arena has a giant scoreboard, much like any sporting arena would have one. It's really natural to look around for it and quickly see your kills or team score. They don't use any HUD or screenspace stuff there.

Looking at something attached to your wrist is another reasonably well integrated way of doing it, if you are using motion controllers. If you don't have motion controllers, maybe looking straight down at your chest could bring up some statistics and scores, and have them disappear when you look up again.