Search Unity

Where to begin?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MrSanfrinsisco, Dec 1, 2019.

1. MrSanfrinsisco

MrSanfrinsisco

Hello, so I'm a new game developer. I'm usually just a programmer but I struggle with actually creating games because I never have any actual art for a game. I've tried using premade assets from the unity asset store but sometimes it's just difficult to actually work with. I've never been an artist, I've actually been really bad at drawing (I can barely draw a stick figure without making it look bad), however, I want to change this. I'm gonna be getting adobe photoshop, as well as a drawing tablet to help me get started. I was wondering if anyone out there could point me in the right direction on where to begin getting better at art? I want to eventually be able to create my own concept art and turn them into 3d models that I can use in games. I'm willing to spend money on classes from sites such as Udemy, but I don't know what classes would be helpful, or if you have any series on YouTube that really helped you out. Once again, I'm a complete noob when it comes to drawing, so I need to learn the very basics, however, I want to go in the direction of video game development. Would something such as starting with pixel art be a good idea? In the future, I want to go more for realism, but maybe pixel art is a good place to start, or maybe it's a really bad place to start if pixel art isn't something I want to focus on later. I'm assuming 2d games would be a good place to start since it isn't as complex as creating 3d art, but I want to eventually get into creating 3d art. Any advice would be nice, thank you!

2. iamthwee

iamthwee

Hello and welcome!

ATM, I'm creating an insurance game for mobile with simple graphics using flame-engine.org.