Search Unity

Where to begin? C#?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Dgreen032, Aug 5, 2018.

1. Dgreen032

Dgreen032

I would like to start in the process of making games (very simple) I know that creating games is not a walk in park and it requires a bit of work, but the only thing stopping me is the coding.. I've tried the unity tutorials but I feel like it's "do what I do" instead of actually understanding the code itself. I'm not very experienced with coding but I don't want to let that throw me off creating games completely. I would like some direction and information on coding and what would be the best way to learn it? Thank you.

2. Kiwasi

Kiwasi

3. Ryiah

Ryiah

If you don't mind setting aside the game development tools for now the best learning resources for helping you understand the code you write are the ones that focus on it exclusively. The C# Yellow Book is one of the best beginner coding books out there for this, but if you want a video series Brackeys has one that covers the same topics but to a lesser degree due to time constraints. You might even want to go through both.

http://www.csharpcourse.com/ - Free C# Yellow Book
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLPV2KyIb3jR6ZkG8gZwJYSjnXxmfPAl51 - Brackeys "How to program in C#"

Code written with these series can be compiled and tested online using the following website if you don't want to set up the compile tools the authors chose (C# Yellow Book uses Visual Studio and Brackeys uses Xamarin Studio).

https://dotnetfiddle.net/

Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
  4. Dgreen032

Dgreen032

5. egartnuc

egartnuc

I'm a new developer myself (I barely even dare call myself a developer), but I found it very useful to take some of the courses on Coursera about C# and Unity. It's been those, then plenty of tutorials on many different subjects, Unitys own and others on youtube, which helped familiarize with core concepts