Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

Where is 'Create > XR > Reference Image Library' in pop-up menu in 2019.2.16f1?

Discussion in 'AR' started by dremond71, Dec 15, 2019.

  1. dremond71

    dremond71

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Hi everyone,

    I started using Unity this weekend to play with AR.

    I am on Windows 10, I have Unity 2019.2.16f1 installed.
    It is set up for Android development.

    I can get a cube showing up on my Google Pixel 3.

    I started following this video by Emersity



    Two things I do not see:

    1) He has a script immediately available called AR Tracked Image Manager that he adds as a component to the AR Session Origin. I do not have access to this. I looked at his previous videos to see if he creates this script and he does not. So I have no clue where it comes from.

    2) He right-clicks the Assets section, the pop-up menu shows up, he selects
    Create > XR > Reference Image Library . I do not see this.

    In my Sample Scene window, I can right-click to bring up pop-up menu, and one of the menu items is
    XR, and I can create AR Session , AR Session Origin, point cloud and default plane.

    But in the Assets window, I don't seem to have an XR cascading menu.

    What am I missing?

    I am eager to try things out

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    9,083
    Did you remember to add the ARKit/ARCore package from the package manager?
     
  3. dremond71

    dremond71

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Yes I have AR Foundation and AR Core installed .
     
  4. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    9,083
    It's late here, but I'll see if I can reproduce this in the same version tomorrow. I did some AR experimenting and used this same guide, so maybe things have been moved around a bit since I last used it.
     
  5. Murgilod

    Murgilod

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Posts:
    9,083
    @dremond71 Sorry for getting back to you so late, I ended up dramatically oversleeping. However, I DID end up solving the problem!

    They version of the AR Subsystems that gets installed by default is 2.0.2, which does not support this. However, if you click on "see all versions" in the package manager, you can manually update to 2.1.1 that does.

    upload_2019-12-19_1-4-10.png

    upload_2019-12-19_1-4-25.png