Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. The 2023.1 beta is now available for testing. To find out what's new, have a look at our 2023.1 feature highlights.
    Dismiss Notice

Bug When will the Input System be functional again? Broken/unresponsive since 2020.2.0b4

Discussion in '2020.2 Beta' started by zapposh, Oct 2, 2020.

  1. zapposh

    zapposh

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Posts:
    117
    Any ETA on when the Input System will be brought back to life in Unity 2020.2.0bx ?
    Since 2020.2.0b4 neither the Input System nor UI Input module respond anymore, leaving games basically brain-dead.

    This has not been fixed in the latest update.
     
    XELF likes this.
  2. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,045
    Hi @zapposh ,

    Can you please submit a bug report for this issue and reply in here with the issue ID?
     
  3. hard_code

    hard_code

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Posts:
    212
    I had this same issue and noticed that my input system setting in player settings got reset to the old system. https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/c...allation.html#enabling-the-new-input-backends

    Then after you change that back on the EventSystem ui game object click the button to replace the input handling system with the new component.

    After i did those changes my project is working again on latest beta.
     
    ROBYER1, Crayz and zapposh like this.
  4. Sarudan

    Sarudan

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Posts:
    63
    Confirming that the issue for me was also that Unity switched the Player setting back to the Old Input System, when I am currently using both, so switching it back to Both rectified the issue.
     
    print_helloworld and ROBYER1 like this.
  5. Rallix

    Rallix

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2016
    Posts:
    139
    On a somewhat related note, I had this slew of errors resurface whenever I tried to do just about anything involving the Input System after I updated to the beta.
    Input Asset.gif
    Pretty sure it's related to this dormant old issue (which seems to have a pull request with an apparent fix already).
    After I removed all traces of virtual joysticks from my PC, the input system became usable again, although that's hardly the ideal solution.
     
  6. LeonhardP

    LeonhardP

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    3,045
    We'd really appreciate a reproduction project that demonstrates these automatic settings changes. The settings are not expected to change like that.