Search Unity

When to use [SerializeField] and why?

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by vexe, Jun 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vexe

vexe

I'm kinda new to the concept of serialization - I read about it in the wiki, in stack overflow and in the Unity scripting reference - kinda gave me an idea - but I'm still not sure why and where would I use it in my game.

An example with some explanation would be appreciated - thanks in advance.

aymusbond, frost4mage and agconti like this.
  2. tylernocks

tylernocks

I am not completely sure but when I use it, it's to make private variables visible in the inspector.

For Example:

Code (csharp):
    1. public int Speed = 10 //This Wil Show In The Inspector
    Code (csharp):
    1. private int Speed = 10 //This Will Not Show In The Inspector
    Code (csharp):
    1. [SerializeField]
    2. private int Speed = 10 //This Will Show In The Inspector

3. User340

User340

Serialization is the process of taking an object in ram (classes, fields, etc...) and making a disk representation of it which can be recreated at any point in the future. When you apply the SerializeField attribute to a field, it tells the unity engine to save/restore it's state to/from disk. You mostly use serialization for the editor, and especially when building your own editor windows and inspectors.

For most games (especially simple ones) PlayerPrefs is sufficient for saving state to disk.

asig396, sawnch, AB498 and 35 others like this.
  4. jewelRana

jewelRana

[Serializefield] is just use for showing a private variable's value on Inspector. You can easily change the value like public variable. But None can access this value from another script or places.

honor0102, Jason210, GloCZ98 and 15 others like this.
  5. User340

User340

No, you can with the Reflection API.

harlandpj and BanzBowinkel like this.
  6. passerbycmc

passerbycmc