Search Unity

When to use dependency injection

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by mrCharli3, Oct 12, 2017.

1. mrCharli3

mrCharli3

I've been playing around with Unity for 2-3 months and finally start feeling comfortable.

So naturally I'm going to restart my project from scratch and make the code nicer and more scaleable.

Long story short, I'm used to using dependency injection as a best practice (coming from asp.net MVC development), however it seems a bit anoying in Unity. Does anyone actually use it?

Should I just use Interfaces for polymorphism instead?
    i.e

Code (CSharp):
    1. interface IDamagable{
    3. public void hit(int dmg);
    5. public void kill();
    7. }
    Then use this Interface for every object in my game that can take damage?

2. StarManta

StarManta

Personally, the two scenarios in which I most commonly use dependency injection:

1: UI code. Your game objects, in general, should not know anything about your game's UI, but they should offer up all the hooks they need to for your game's UI to control them as needed.

2: Editor tools. This one is enforced by the compiler, because runtime code can't know about editor code. But the same concept as the above applies.

3. MaxGuernseyIII

MaxGuernseyIII

When you write "dependency injection", do you mean the design principle or do you mean the category of framework?

4. jvo3dc

jvo3dc

Those are both true and inversion of control does apply here. I'm not that sure about dependency injection though. Mainly because of this disadvantage:
    "Dependency injection can make code difficult to trace (read) because it separates behavior from construction. This means developers must refer to more files to follow how a system performs."