Search Unity

When making a heavily story-based game/visual novel, where do you keep the text? (array of strings)

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by WizardXZD, Jul 4, 2019.

1. WizardXZD

WizardXZD

Making a game with a decent amount of dialogue.

I've seen a few tutorials on making dialogue systems.

However, they ALWAYS use arrays of strings to hold all the dialogue.This seems super inefficient for games with more text than just a few lines?

Wouldn't it be easier to just write the dialogue in a .txt file and read that? I've never done this before, so I might be underestimating how much work it would be, but I would imagine it's a lot easier to edit text that way.

Has anyone had experience with working with a lot of dialogue, and what did you do?

2. palex-nx

palex-nx

L. Tolstoj War and Peace in unicode occupies about 3 megabytes. If your texts are really much larger than that...

whimsicalchainsaw and Glaum like this.
  3. Kurt-Dekker

Kurt-Dekker

You can hard-code text into the game code, which requires the least actual code and results in the most-brittle and hardest-to-update approach.

You can put it into txt files or into ScriptableObjects or into JSON files or whatever, but each of those approaches will take you some time to write the tooling.

If you want to get a jump on things, look at more already-written text dialog system. If you're done with that part of things, just start coding and see how it shakes out, and over time you can look for ways to abstract and package things such as dialog trees, or individual lines, or whatever. Much of how you solve it is going to depend on the complexity you're trying to achieve.

Laperen and lordofduct like this.
  4. baxcet20

baxcet20