Search Unity

When is it a good idea to use ECS over the traditional MonoBehavior system?

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by thedrok_, Jun 24, 2019.

1. thedrok_

thedrok_

I'm fairly new to ECS but I am wondering when it's a good idea to write new code in or port old code over to ECS. Most video's seem to suggest that ECS is only used for situations where there are many things doing the same or similar action. For example creating hundreds of bullets or rendering many objects. Is there any reason to use ECS for something like player controls instead of MonoBehaviors or are MonoBehaviors better for something like that? What about networking?

2. 5argon

5argon

Previously I could indeed feel the friction of ECS when you try to do manager object and is forced to use the many-things API in order to just use a single entity from the query. Currently ECS has singleton pattern methods which is suitable for managers. Make a system to represent a manager instead of MonoBehaviour, execpt that the data storage is not in the system but in a singleton entity.

It may feel like an extra step over MonoBehaviour even with Get/SetSingleton to help, but remember that in mono you will have to let user of the manager know about it via either singleton static pattern, or exposed variable anyways. The ability to use GetSingleton to get the manager to appear instantly could become more convenient than mono if you could get used to it. (plus it is compatible with the rest of many-things in ECS that may come later, it could appear in a job thread, etc.)

For networking ECS looks like an even more suitable solution than mono that networking is composed of many of small commands/packets. See FPS samples or https://forum.unity.com/threads/showcase-enet-unity-ecs-5000-real-time-player-simulation.605656/

3. gamevanilla

gamevanilla

There are several benefits to data-oriented design that go beyond pure performance. In no particular order: