Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Question When building on WebGL there is an error

Discussion in 'Web' started by Merlumbien, Jan 28, 2021.

  1. Merlumbien

    Merlumbien

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    I already deinstalled all of my Unity-Versions, and reinstalled the recommended Version 2019.4.18f1 but everytime i try to build a project (even an unchanged one, with the SampleScene) to WebGL there is this error. If i build my project to Windows, everything gets right, but not for WebGL.

    Does anyone know how to fix this?
     
  2. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    560
    Yes. Give up on IL2CPP and set back-end to Mono.
     
  3. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,887
    The Mono scripting backend is not supported for WebGL, so this won't work.

    @Merlumbien

    Can you provide the full details for this error message?
     
  4. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    560
    My apologies. This was my solution in Unity 2018. IL2CPP never seems to work for any platform. Very complicated to set up. I overlooked that OP is using 2019.
     
  5. JoshPeterson

    JoshPeterson

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2014
    Posts:
    6,887
    No problem, I just wanted to clarify. FWIW, the WebGL platform has never worked with the Mono scripting backend, even in 2018 and earlier.
     
  6. LilGames

    LilGames

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Posts:
    560
    How odd. Of me. To not notice that. Especially before posting. :oops:
     
  7. jukka_j

    jukka_j

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 4, 2018
    Posts:
    953
    @Merlumbien I would recommend trying out with latest Unity alpha release as well (if you didn't already).

    We have historically had issues with paths that have uncommon unicode characters in their path names. But not sure if that would be the case here. If you can post the full logs like @JoshPeterson is asking, that would hopefully help out.