Search Unity

What's your experience with internships?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by AndersMalmgren, Mar 21, 2018.

1. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

Hey guys. We got a request from a student about a internship, super fun that our small Studio got that attention :D

We really need all the help we can get so it's a welcome request, but I have no experience in the field of internships. For example we are only two guys both with day jobs so we would have limit time for mentorship.

We want this to be good both for us and the intern. Any tips?

2. zoran404

zoran404

Would be nice if you make the project yourself before giving him the assignment, so you have something to compare his version to and know it can be done in a reasonable time.

Also offer coffee, you can't not have coffee x)

Btw what do you plan on assigning him? Is it going to be 2 or 3 weeks long internship?

3. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

He will be working in our real project with actual features. One problem is we don't have an office we work from home with discord and slack to communicate with, I will ask him if this is ok.

It's 10 weeks, I have some ideas, we need some new UI features like map/game mode voting, kick voting etc. A new level if he is more into level design, look at implementing texture arrays if he want to go more low level.

4. zoran404

zoran404

In that case are you going to be paying him or offer to hire him afterwards?

5. AndersMalmgren

AndersMalmgren

Depends on how good he is :D We will probably at least give him the Oculus Rift hardware :D I googled and here in sweden internships are usually unpaid actually. Internal interships are paid though, but this is a student from that needs this experience for to get his degree

6. theANMATOR2b

theANMATOR2b

UI***
    UV's
    Skin weighting
    TESTING!!!
    Marketing efforts - this is part of the job - so it should be open for 'assignment'