Search Unity

What's Your 3D Modelling Workflow?

Discussion in 'Formats & External Tools' started by peterdeghaim, Jun 6, 2014.

1. peterdeghaim

peterdeghaim

Hello all!

I am a beginner in the whole 3D modelling scene (however I have access to any program I want because I'm a student) and I am wondering, what is everyones choice of 3D workflow?

I've heard of people using Cheeta3D, Blender, 3DS, heck even Sculptris. How do all of you do it?

And also, how did you get started?

Personally, I am just getting into it. I followed a few tutorials on Blender and actually got stuff done but Blender is horrendously ugly IMO and I've been able to achieve more in my first few minutes of 3DS than my first few hours of Blender.

I am now hoping to stick with 3DS, however there's a lot of debate around the 3D workflow and Maya seems to be pretty cool and so does Cinema4D...

2. jRocket

jRocket

Personally, I have traditionally used 3ds max, which used to be the best modeler around. Autodesk has left 3ds max in a dark dusty closet lately, given Maya a lot more love these days, and the recent versions of Maya have caught up with max in the modeling department, as well as being an overall great animation and general pipeline tool. Check out Modo too.
    Ultimately if your goal to model things for a personal project or game, your choice is irrelevant as all of those softwares can do the job and have great learning resources.

peterdeghaim likes this.
  3. tweedie

tweedie

My workflow changes a bit depending on what I'm modelling. Generally, if it's realistic and organic (but often hard-surface too) I use sculptris to knock out a concept sculpt to build in all the basic forms and shapes. I then import that into Blender and do a quick bit of retopology and make a properly subdivided high poly model. I then retopo that again properly as a low poly mesh and bake the details down in xNormal and then texture in Photoshop.