Search Unity

What's the most ECS-like way of writing simplistic AI

Discussion in 'Entity Component System' started by verenion, May 11, 2019.

1. verenion

verenion

I'm not new to coding, or to Unity for that matter, but I am fairly new to the ECS pattern. I've been getting my feet wet with it, and seem to be getting on okay. I understand that components store data, which are then 'tagged' to an Entity. Systems can then be developed to interact and respond with these components and entities. So far, so good. I have however hit a bit of a mental wall when I have a very simple AI.

For all intents and purposes, let's say we have an Entity, with an Enemy Component (simply used to tag that this Entity is an enemy), a Health Component and the usual transform components (Translation, Rotation etc.).

Now let's say we have another Entity with a Player Component (again, just a tag), along with Health Component and the usual suspects.

I've been struggling to think of the most pure ECS way of simply having a system whereby the Enemy Entity can "look" for players within a certain range. If you get within, say 10 units, of the enemy, an "AttackPlayer" component can be send to the Enemy Entity and off it goes. The tricky bit for me, mentally, is the spacial awareness of the AI.

If there is only one player, this is trivial, have a system pull every EnemyComponent, along with the enemies Translation then compare that position to the player's position. But let's say the player can control lots of units, say, 1000 units. This could become a problem - we can't just pull 1000 Enemies, then for each of those compare to each of the 1000 Player units. Standard O(N)