Search Unity

Whats the best way to learn unity

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Frostice100, Oct 18, 2015.

1. Frostice100

Frostice100

I started learning the Unity engine a week ago, as a programmer I wanted to learn mostly the coding part of Unity.
    The problem is that is a bit difficult to learn it. Every tutorial I have seen is in Unity 4.I basically learn from the official site of unity, but It takes a lot of time to understand something in the site, the scripting API is really helpful but difficult.
    Could I learn unity engine by just learning from the Documents?
    How much it took you to learn unity(in a sense that you can make a 3d game with sounds, animations etc.)?
    How much it will take to learn the engine?

2. A_Sloane

A_Sloane

Hi and welcome !

As a recent fresh one in Unity, I totally feel you. Even if you feel a bit lost with the official tutorials, I recommend that you watch at least the "Interface & Essentials" ones and the first couples of dozen from the "Scripting" part.

Then, if you think you need more materials, try some other third parties tutorials. I listed a few good ones in my post where I keep updates on my progress:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/de...rning-with-unity-and-game-development.353246/

Finally, the best is to begin to code a bit, just to see some things in motion. You can within one month make easily one of the basic tutorial (like Roll-a-ball) and the continue bit by bit (adding sounds, animations etc). But don't forget that watching videos and reading pdf does not do the job, you have to code to understand the code, watching and reading alone are not sufficient.

Good luck !

3. petkovas

petkovas

Disclaimer:
    1. I am still learning, and will probably find something new every day, when i use Unity. You should, too.
    2. Unity 5.2 is still unstable. Avoid it for the time being (for a couple months at least). The Unity 4 API is compatible with the Unity 5 API.