Search Unity

Whats the best network solution for P2P with matchmaking?

Discussion in 'Multiplayer' started by starforce2005, Jan 9, 2019.

1. starforce2005

starforce2005

I'm new to network programming, my question seems noob, but i'm really lost and cannot find the right tutorial for my problem.

If i were to make a P2P(small project party game) multiplayer with matchmaking do i have to learn a network engine?

Most of tutorial avalible are for Unet which is discountinued(by the way are there tutorial still useful?), what are the alternitives?

And lastly if i learn to code in one network engine, will my code work in another? for example if code in a network engine like Unet, when i want to publish on steam, does it compatible with steam network?

By the way does P2P subject to CCU after the game has established?

Last edited: Jan 9, 2019
  2. Joe-Censored

Joe-Censored

You're probably not going to get a lot of clicks on your thread because the "best" solution is not a question that can be answered by anyone but yourself. The best for me is not necessarily the best for you, because we're making different games with different requirements and the two of us have different skill sets and experiences. Also, the "best" would require anyone who answers to have tried all of them, but there are few people who have done so.

MrsPiggy likes this.
  3. starforce2005

starforce2005