Search Unity

Whats is the maximum value of the x y and z cordinates..?

Discussion in '2D' started by hkk007, Feb 18, 2015.

1. hkk007

hkk007

I am new to unity and I am designing a infinite running 2d game.
    There are 2 ways to create backgrounds
    1. scrolling the background not changing the position
    2. spawn the background and moving the player forward.

In the second approach x coordinate increases.
    Which is best approach ?
    What is the maximum limit of the x coordinate ?

Thanks in advance

2. justJack

justJack

Well,
    you can creat a Quad, scale it to fit your camera properly, rotate if necessary, and attach a material (a texture + shader).
    In order to create the illusion of a scrolling background, you have to offset the texture.

Here: http://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/Material.SetTextureOffset.html
    And here: http://unity3d.com/learn/tutorials/modules/beginner/live-training-archive/2d-scrolling-backgrounds
    Also here: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/419430/is-recomended-to-use-settextureoffset-to-create-a.html

Good luck.

3. hkk007

hkk007

Sir,
    Thanks for the reply.
    Will u please tell me which is the best procedure ? scrolling the background by keeping player x axis constant or moving the player forward by incrementing the x axis?

4. justJack

justJack

Well,
    it is not a good idea to work with a big number. The calculation will be expensive and will take longer , which is a pain for any mobile device.
    With this in mind, the optimal solution would be to just offset the texture as moving the player will increase the X position too much eventually.

Then, to create the illusion of running endlessly, just keep the character at the same position all the time, create a running animation, scroll the background and... You are done :)

It is not hard.

Last edited: Feb 18, 2015
  5. Eric5h5

Eric5h5

Volunteer Moderator Moderator